Strawberry-Raspberry Oatmeal Smoothie.

Strawberry-Raspberry Oatmeal Smoothie

Good Morning World! Last night after a fabulous dinner with my family, I was driving home brainstorming breakfast ideas. I’ve been in a slight healthy mindset after being sick all January, then catching a stomach virus last week. So what better way to incorporate lots of nutrition back into my system?! A fruit, yogurt, and oatmeal smoothie. My mom sent me home with a whole bunch of strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries which was perfect sign that I needed to make one.

Once I came home I rinsed a handful of strawberries and raspberries and chopped them up into finer pieces. You want to put them in a plastic baggie and throw them into the freezer overnight so they help keep your smoothie cold, and you don’t have to add too much ice.

This morning, I had some trouble waking up but the thought of a fruity smoothie was too good to sleep in for. I sprang into the kitchen to make a couple smoothies for me and my boyfriend before he headed off to another long week of coding school. He surely needs this filling and energetic drink in the morning to keep him going!

I used a Magic Bullet to mix my ingredients, but you can use a mixer or hand blender. When using the Magic Bullet, you kind of have to add your ingredients in opposite order since you screw the blade on top of the cup then flip it over. So I added in this order: milk, yogurt, banana, honey, ice, oatmeal, frozen fruit. Blend and serve!

This smoothie recipe is great for on the go, or if you are trying to swap out some meals with smoothies for the upcoming bikini season. It will fill you up and curb your hunger for at least a few hours and keep you going for your busy mornings. The best part is that it’s incredibly easy to make, and quick too!

The banana adds a healthy amount of potassium, the berries incorporate Vitamin C, and the oats are a good source of carbohydrates. I also needed to add yogurt into my diet for the extra Live Active Cultures, and this was a great way to get my fair share. I like using fage; To me this is the best tasting Greek yogurt out there with a great creamy texture that doesn’t sacrifice taste.The calories for this smoothie are between 200-250 depending on what type of yogurt, and milk you use.

Enjoy, and Stay creATEive.

Strawberry-Raspberry Oatmeal Smoothie. 


Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup milk (regular, soy, coconut, or other liquid)
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 medium banana (broken up into pieces)
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/2 to 1 cup ice
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries & Raspberries

Instructions

Place all ingredients into blender. Mix until smooth and no chunks are left. Serve and enjoy!

* You can store extra smoothie in the refrigerator for about 2 days before it starts to become unappetizing. Simply cover it with an airtight top or plastic wrap.

Leave a Reply

